Why a Google Top 3 Position Rocks

Blackboard showing current trends in website development and design features

One thing I’ve been noticing more and more is that so many people think that SEO is this one-time thing. They think getting their site optimised for their keywords is enough.



As you can imagine, being in that top spot in Google is competitive and rightly so as at least 33% of total traffic will go there.

To give you an idea of what this means, let’s say you’re trying to rank for;
Pest control Adelaide which has a monthly search intent of 2400.
Adelaide Pest Control search traffic
The Number 1 position is getting about 803 visits per month
Adelaide Pest Control Number 1 Google position
The Number 2 position is getting about 112 visits per month
Adelaide Pest Control Number 2 Google position
The Number 3 position is getting about 54 visits per month
Adelaide Pest Control Number 3 Google position
Position 10 on page 1 (last spot on the page) attracts a whopping 2 visits per month from a possible 2400.


That’s EXACTLY why you need to be in 1 of the top 3 positions on Google. You need to  keep fighting for that top spot which involves:

  • Producing consistent relevant, original content.
  • Attracting new backlinks.
  • Ensuring your site speed is FAST.
  • Asking for Google reviews.
  • Updating Google My Business.
  • Creating and adding relevant schema markup.
  • Submitting significant page updates to Google Search Console for indexing.
  • Closely monitoring the behaviours of the top 3 Google SERP businesses.


If you’re wondering if it’s worth it

Just look at the CPC (cost per click) for pest control Adelaide, it’s a whopping $11.40 just for a possible click.

The number 1 position currently is averaging 803 clicks per month. If they were paying for Google ads to achieve this, they would be looking at 803 x $11.40 = $9154.20 on AD SPEND.


That’s why SEO should be an essential part of your marketing strategy and a long term approach.


Plus, it’s really exciting when you get to number 1, well we think so anyway (we’re kinda nerdy like that 😆).


So now you know why you need to be at the top of a Google search results page, let’s discover some ways on how to make that happen.

Ways to Increase your SERP Ranking

First up, let me explain SERP. Search Engine Results Page. This is the page that shows up when you conduct a search in Google.

Our goal is to help you get to page 1 of Google. Today’s blog we are going to focus on a few steps YOU can take to make this happen.

First up you need a list of your keywords. If you haven’t done it yet, check out this blog.

Now your goal is to ensure you come up for your chosen keywords.

FIRST STEP – Optimise your web pages for your top 3-5 keywords. This can be done through your web developer, or if you have a WordPress website and you’re pretty confident with your site, there is a great plugin you can install to help you.
Yoast – Is a highly recommended Wordpress plug in that enables you to optimise each web page for your chosen keyword. It will give you prompts on what needs to happen to get the GREEN light!

Need a hand download our SEO Implementation Guide.

SECOND STEP – Ensure your site loads quickly. Having a fast loading site is a major factor in your Google ranking. Ensuring images are optimised will assist and it’s REALLY important to ensure your website is optimised for mobile (60% of searches take place on a mobile).

You can visit Google PageSpeed Insights to see your current site speed.

 – Aim to increase backlinks to your site. There are many ways to achieve backlinks and here are a few ways to get started. Partner with similar businesses and share links. Listings with Local Directories and creating blogs which can be shared on other sites.

Other tips to improve your SERP ranking:

  • Ensure your site has a SSL certificate.
  • Produce REGULAR content on your website. This can be done through your blog.
  • Optimise blogs for long tail keywords.
  • Monitor your ranking. Establish where you rank now and consistently monitor how your rankings are improving.
  • Analyze Google Analytics to track where your traffic is coming from and which keywords are effective.

There is a lot more you can do to improve your Search Engine Results,  right now we are focusing on the basics that you can implement asap to start seeing results.

Let’s GROW your business.

❤ Hilds



Hilde is digital marketing specialist who developed Get Active Online back in 2008 where her digital marketing journey began. She has a passion for helping business owners learn the skills needed to take control of their marketing.